top of page

What if...

As a junior at Washington State University, majoring in Communications, and double minoring in Graphic Design, and Entrepreneurship, opening my own graphic design studio would be the dream. As an entrepreneur student, I sit in class and here about all these crazy new businesses that are creating clean water filtration for third world countries, or cheap incubators for premature babies in India, and I question the value of opening a business that I am passionate about, but that already exists somewhere else and isn’t really adding anything to the world. The “what if” topic of this blog assignment is exciting to think about, and reinforces my desire and confidence in opening my own small business.

I’ve thought about the idea of opening up my own shop for a while now. I absolutely love getting work done in coffee shops. I love the environment, the noise, the smell, and the people. I HATE coffee, but ironically, have had this dream of opening my own coffee shop with a loft/upstairs where I have a private graphic design and photography business. The idea of being my own boss, working where I want to work, and doing something that I LOVE to do sounds like an opportunity that I can’t push to the back burner.

It is going to take a lot of money to make this dream come to life, so in the meantime, I am using my minor in entrepreneurship to learn how to help start up businesses get off the ground from a design and marketing stand point…while secretly drafting business plans for my future shop.

I’ve thought about this idea for so long, that I have a name picked out, and know exactly what I want it to look like. I went back and fourth between a couple different names, but have settled on The Light Room. I’ve done a little bit of research on how to open a successful coffee shop, and a couple of articles I found particularly helpful are listed below...

Here are a couple images I pulled from Pinterest that are examples of how I would want the look and feel of my Coffee Shop and Graphic Design Studio to look!


RECENT POSTS
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
ARCHIVE
bottom of page